Shirobako Review

shirobako review

SHIROBAKO
P.A Works. Directed by Tsutomu Mizushima, 2014
All the meta

Shirobako features five girls trying to make a living in the anime industry. Each girl is involved with a different aspect of production and animation. It’s a beautiful anime series.

It’s light-hearted and it gives some insight into the industry. Well, I can’t vouch its verisimilitude, but nonetheless it’s very interesting. It’s less tense than Bakuman, for example, but it still brought tears to my eyes*. The characters are funny, well-rounded, and all have their own obstacles to overcome: personal and professional. It’s good to see how they overcome these obstacles like deadlines, writer blocks, audition rejections, and so much more.

To be honest, I don’t think I have more to add to this. Just watch it!

*I cry with every small emotional moment so I’m not sure how biased I am.

 

Leave a Reply

