Yurikuma Arashi Review

yurikuma review header

ユリ熊嵐 | Yurikuma Arashi
Silver Link, Directed by Kunihiko Ikuhara 2015
KUMA SHOCK!

I’m a huge fan of Revolutionary Girl Utena, so when Mawaru Penguindrum came out I watched it because of Ikuhara. So when Yurikuma Arashi came out, I watched it because of Ikuhara.

However, I think I would’ve been interested in the story nonetheless. I just knew what I was in for when I saw director name attached to the anime: a whole bunch of metaphors.

Yurikuma Arashi follows Kureha Tsubaki, a girl who hates bears and vows to shoot all bears. Her world is always in danger of bears. Bears started to eat people ever since a meteor shower. The anime starts when Kureha’s best friend, Sumika Izumino, is killed by bear. However, the story is bigger than where it begins, and you’ll be thrown into many flashbacks of the character’s backgrounds and the plot. To be honest, I thought there were too many. I don’t understand why there had to be so many flashbacks in the anime, when they could have started the story a bit earlier in the plot. Perhaps they wanted to capture the viewers from the very first minute of the anime, but they could’ve just gone back for a few days instead of having several flashbacks each episode.

The other main characters are Lulu and Ginko. These girls are two bears who were blessed by the Wall of Severance to become human in order to make their dreams come true. Everything is a metaphor for social criticism on the attitude towards homosexuality. How you wish to interpret those metaphors is to your own.

I had really hoped for a polygamous relationship in the end, but it ended up a bit different.

The opening is gorgeous. It reminds me of the Mawaru Penguindrum openings. The rest of the audio is pretty amazing as well, from the soundtrack to the voice acting!

Overall, it’s an all right anime. I think it manages to portray the criticism on homosexuality and society very well, but the narrative is just a bit all over the place.

Leave a Reply

